Onno Vocks Images

Old School / new

Trails1 053Trails1 054Onno Vocks thatched roof, modern house

In my travels I some times come across things that make me smile. This time I rode past this house that had just been finished, and if you look at it you’ll see a modern house built with ancient building materials; brick walls covered by a thatched roof. The beauty of this construction method is that brick lasts hundreds of years and the thatched roof last 60-80 years, about a human life span. Besides only having to re-roof your house once in a life time, the 6-8 inch layer of the roof provides excelent insulation, leaving the entire attic available for living space. Just something to be learned from the past.

One response

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    I didn’t know that about brick, thatch and life spans. Very interesting – thank you!

    March 17, 2013 at 12:57 am

Leave a comment